Skip to main content

Employees Recognized for Combined 797 Years of Service to Westminster College

Share on:

Posted on Friday, May 12, 2017

Westminster College honored 46 employees with a combined total of 797 years of service during the annual employee recognition luncheon traditionally held every Spring. Current and retired employees gathered on May 10 in the Witherspoon Rooms of the McKelvey Campus Center to honor the service milestones and retirements of those who have dedicated many years to the Westminster community.

“Employees look forward to the recognition luncheon every year,” says Kim Christofferson, director of human resources at Westminster College. “We all enjoy time together before the summer break, and look forward to seeing many of our local retirees who come back for the event as well.”

Retiring from Westminster College are: Ann M. Badger, advancement secretary; Cynthia S. Dafler, assistant director of alumni; Dr. Neal A. Edman, vice president for student affairs and dean of students; Dr. Daniel E. Fischmar, professor of economics; Elaine M. Gurtner, custodian; Dr. Darwin W. Huey, professor of education; and Barbara I. Quincy, counselor.

Other honorees included:

35 years of service - Kimberlee K. Christofferson, director of human resources

30 years of service - Steven E. Connell, supervisor, grounds unit; Michael W. Cosgrove, supervisor, crafts unit; Shaun J. Toomey, head athletic trainer

25 years of service - Edward Galanski, college electrician; Dr. Mandy B. Medvin, professor of psychology; Dr. Deborah C. Mitchell, professor of English and film studies; Dr. James C. Rhoads, Jr., professor of political science

20 years of service – Dr. Joseph M. Balczon, associate professor of biology; Cheryl Gerber, director of financial aid; Kathy J. Metrocavige, custodian; Carol S. Morrow, academic administrative assistant; Brian Schultz, manager, print shop; Carmelina Shockey, supervisor, campus mailroom; Nancy M. Smith, accounts payable coordinator; Milagros Swerdlow, lecturer in Spanish; Diane L. Ubry, executive secretary, president’s office; Linda E. Wilson, secretary, office of alumni relations

15 years of service – Dr. Jeffrey T. Bersett, associate professor of Spanish; Dr. Colleen M. Merrick, associate professor of communication studies; Dawn M. Chapman, associate director of admissions; Stanton A. Fleming, director of user services; Lynn L. Foltz, statistician, admissions & financial aid; Dr. David W. Goldberg, associate professor of philosophy; Dr. Patrick D. Krantz, associate professor of environmental science/director of outdoor lab; Doreen M. Matune, academic administrative assistant; Erin T. Smith, associate dean for LIS/associate professor; Janet M. Smith, business manager; Dr. Peter M. Smith, professor of chemistry

10 years of service – Dr. Michael E. Aleprete Jr., associate professor of political science; Sandra Auchter, custodian; Andy Changoway, network & telecommunications engineer; Samuel A. DiVitto, equipment manager, department of athletics; Elizabeth F. Hildebrand, director of publications; Timothy Hohn, custodian; Jason T. Howard, lecturer, School of Music; Jody L. McCloskey, graphic designer/production assistant; Timothy McNeil, head track & field coach, head cross country coach; Angela S. Richards, student accounts coordinator.

Contact Kim Christofferson at 724-946-7247 or e-mail for more information.