Skip to main content

Mathematics Honor Society Inducted New Members

Posted on Friday, July 11, 2014

The Westminster College chapter of Kappa Mu Epsilon mathematics honor society inducted seven students as new members at a ceremony at Gallo's Italian Villa in New Castle.

New members are: Richard Beaudoin, Valerie DeSilva, Nicholas Hainsey, Amanda Kowalczyk, Julie Powell, Brandon Saber, and Rachel Simko.

The induction ceremony was led by Dr. Pamela Richardson, associate professor of mathematics and Kappa Mu Epsilon adviser, and the officers: Gregory Clark, president; Brittany Erbe, vice president; Jenna Huston, secretary; Stephanie Burkus, treasurer; and Emily Walther, public relations chair.

Additional KME members include: Julie Bearer, Michael Girata, John Griebel, Amber Hill, Connor MacKenzie, Brandon Mosley, Allison Rice, Julie Rice, and Laura Smallhoover.

Westminster mathematics faculty attending included Dr. Carolyn Cuff, professor; Dr. Natacha Fontes-Merz, associate professor; and Dr. David Offner, assistant professor.

Kappa Mu Epsilon, a national honor society, was founded to promote the interest in mathematics among undergraduate students in colleges and universities that offer a strong mathematics major.  Members are selected from students in mathematics and closely related disciplines who have maintained standards of scholarship, have professional merit, and have attained academic distinction.

Contact Richardson at 724-946-7290 or email for additional information.

(L-r) Julie Powell, Brandon Saber, Brandon Mosley, Nicholas Hainsey, Amanda Kowalczyk, Michael Girata, Richard Beaudoin, Gregory Clark, Rachel Simko, Amber Hill, and Jenna Huston