Skip to main content

Westminster music faculty perform with Butler County Symphony Orchestra

Share on:

Posted on Friday, March 8, 2024

Several Westminster College music faculty members performed in Butler County Symphony Orchestra’s March 2 concert, which featured Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 1 “Titan” and included the world premiere of a piece composed by another Westminster professor.

Musicians representing Westminster College were:

  • Dr. Timothy Winfield, associate professor: principal trumpet
  • Dr. R. Tad Greig, professor: trombone
  • Dr. Melinda Perttu, professor: violin
  • Kim Winfield, adjunct instructor: oboe and English horn
  • Justin Bendel, adjunct instructor: bass
  • Michael Gelfand, adjunct instructor: cello
  • Julia Scott, adjunct instructor: harp

Timothy Hering of New Galilee, Pa., a 2021 alumnus and former student of Dr. Winfield, also performed on trumpet.

The evening’s performance also marked the premiere of “Valor,” a tone poem commissioned by the symphony and composed by Westminster College Professor of Music Dr. Daniel Perttu.

Written to complement Mahler’s Symphony No. 1, Perttu’s “Valor”—running nearly 11 minutes—was scored for woodwinds in pairs, four horns in F, two trumpets, two trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion and strings.

The symphony also performed Edvard Greig’s Peer Gynt, Op. 23 and Albert Périlhou’s Ballade for Flute and Orchestra.

Several current Westminster College music students were in attendance.

For more information about Westminster College School of Music, please visit

Westminster College students, alumni and employees came out to support Westminster faculty musicians at the Butler County Symphony Orchestra concert on March 2. Front row from left are Camille Baptiste ’24, Madison Mueller-Howell ’24, Bella Dines ’25, Lyddia Rougeaux ’25, Amy Smith ’24. Second row from left, Devin Mong ’25, Liam Chute ’26, Michael Everhart ’26, Jeremy Beckinger ’25, Dr. Melinda Crawford Perttu, Michael Gelfand, Ali Pabrinkis Erevia ’12, Kim Winfield, Paula Kubik, Jacob Weber ’27. Third row from left, Hunter Hoag ’24, Tim Mulcahy ’25, Tim Hering ’21, Justin Bendel, Dr. Dan Perttu, Julia Scott, Dr. Tim Winfield and Hunter Peterson ’24.