Skip to main content

Employees Honored for Years of Service

Share on:

Posted on Thursday, May 10, 2012

Westminster College honored 53 employees for 951 years of combined service at a luncheon May 9 in the McKelvey Campus Center's Witherspoon Rooms.

Employees who are retiring are: Nancy Beth Brooks, executive secretary in the Office of Student Affairs, after 17 years; Sandi Chandler, communication specialist, after 14 years; Joyce Hoellein, education lecturer, after 18 years; Dr. Phyllis Kitzerow, professor of sociology, after 34 years; Patricia Lewis, technical assistant in McGill Library, after 21 years; Donald Shelenberger, business manager, after 36 years; Ralph Shelenberger, upholsterer, after 35 years; and Molly Spinney, associate professor/head librarian, after 37 years.

Those honored for years of service were:

35 years - Dr. Gary Lilly, associate professor of sociology, and Ralph Shelenberger.

30 years - Kimberlee Christofferson, director of human resources.

25 years - Steven Connell, supervisor of the grounds unit; Michael Cosgrove, supervisor of the crafts unit; and Shaun Toomey, head athletic trainer.

20 years - Edward Galanski, electrician; Mary James, director of alumni relations; Dr. Mandy Medvin, professor and chair of the Department of Psychology; JoeAnn Miller, executive secretary in the Office of the President; Dr. Deborah Mitchell, professor of English; Carol Mounts, gift processor in the Office of Institutional Advancement; Dr. James Rhoads, professor of political science; Stacey Walker, customer service for Sodexo;  and Patricia Wallace, custodian.

15 years - Dr. Joseph Balczon, associate professor of biology; Jean Breetz, customer service for Sodexo; Cheryl Gerber, director of financial aid; Louisa Hilke, office manager/application processor in the Office of Admissions; Dr. Camila Bari de Lopez, associate professor of Spanish; Mark Meighen, senior director of marketing and communication services; Kathy Metrocavige, custodian; Carol Morrow, secretary in the Department of English and Public Relations; Beth Sammons, TUB manager with Sodexo; Brian Schultz, manager of the print shop; Carmelina Shockey, supervisor of the campus mailroom; Nancy Smith, accounts payable coordinator; Milagros Swerdlow, Spanish lecturer; Diane Ubry, executive secretary in the Office of Institutional Advancement; and Linda Wilson, secretary in the Office of Alumni Relations.

10 years - Dr. Jeffrey Bersett, associate professor of Spanish; Debbie Bobbert, custodian; Dr. Colleen Burke, associate professor of communication studies; Dawn Chapman, associate director of admissions; Stanton Fleming, coordinator of user and desktop services; Lynn Foltz, statistician in the Office of Admissions and Financial Aid; Lisa Gleghorn, custodian; Dr. David Goldberg, associate professor of philosophy; Dr. Patrick Krantz, director of the Drinko Center for Experiential Learning; Dr. Kirk Lunnen, associate professor of psychology; Doreen Matune, secretary in the Drinko Center; Dr. Eileen Morelli, associate professor of education; Erin Smith, associate professor/associate librarian; Dr. Peter Smith, associate professor of chemistry; Janet Smith, assistant controller; and Ronald Webster, network technologies specialist.

Contact Kim Christofferson, director of human resources, at (724) 946-7247 or email for more information.