Skip to main content

Swimming & Diving: Six Titans Honored with Nicholson Award

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

NEW WILMINGTON, Pa. - Six members of the Westminster College men's and women's swimming and diving teams were awarded the 2012-13 Coach Gene Nicholson Swimmer/Scholar Recognition Award.

Two members of the men's team who were honored were seniors Cody Trudeau (Tioga, PA / Williamson) and Alan Nedley (White, PA / Connellsville). This was the second straight year that Trudeau and Nedley earned this award.

Four members of the women's team who were honored were seniors Hannah Garvey-Staiger (Gibsonia, PA / Pine-Richland), Carolyn Swarlis (Pittsburgh, PA / Avonworth), and Abby Gardner (Medina, OH / Medina), and junior Carrie Whisel (Boiling Springs, PA / Boiling Springs). This was the second straight year that Garvey-Staiger, Swarlis, and Gardner earned this award. 

The Coach Gene Nicholson Swimmer/Scholar Recognition Award is given to Westminster junior and senior swimmers and divers with at least a 3.3 cumulative grade-point average. The award was first established in 2007 by a group of alumni swimming and diving team members and friends to honor former head coach Gene Nicholson (1972-85) and the values he exemplified.

About Westminster College...
Founded in 1852 and related to the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), Westminster College ranks first in the nation as "Best College for Women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math," according to Westminster is a top-tier liberal arts college and a national leader in graduation rate performance, according to U.S. News Best Colleges guide. Westminster is also honored as one of "The Best 377 Colleges" by The Princeton Review, and is named to the President's Honor Roll for excellence in service learning.

Nearly 1,600 undergraduate and graduate students benefit from individualized attention from dedicated faculty while choosing from 41 majors and nearly 100 organizations on the New Wilmington, Pa., campus. Visit to view "Advantage: Westminster" A Strategic Plan 2010-2020.

Related Sports

  Men's Swimming & Diving

  Women's Swimming & Diving


Click to enlarge.

2013 Gene Nicholson Award Winners