Tuesday, March 29, 2011

The 2011 Kappa Mu Epsilon induction ceremony and dinner was held at the home of KME advisor Dr. Natacha Fontes-Merz on Thursday, March 10, 2011; thirteen Westminster College students were inducted.  The event was attended by KME members, inductees, and Mathematics and Computer Science faculty.

Kappa Mu Epsilon is a specialized honor society in Mathematics. KME was founded in 1931 to promote the interest of mathematics among undergraduate students.  Its chapters are located in colleges and universities of recognized standing which offer a strong mathematics major.  The chapters' members are selected from students of mathematics and other closely related fields who have maintained standards of scholarship, have professional merit, and have attained academic distinction. Both men and women are eligible for membership.

2011 KME inductees include the following:  William Armentrout, Anthony Caratelli, Todd Changoway, Branislav Cikel, Bethany Ekimoff, Christina Erceg, Lisa Kaylor, Andrew Kieffer, Timothy Matyas, Jaclyn Miller, Hannah Raihall, Sydney Spain, and Chelsea Wesp.

KME Officers:  Heather McQuiston, President; Coty Hainsey, Vice President; Aaron Zavora, Secretary; Jonathan Bodle, Treasurer; and Stephen Donnel, Public Relations.

KME members: 
Brendan Banks, Karina-Mikayla Barcus, Jonathan Bodle, Jeremy Booher, Emily Dolsak, Stephen Donnel, Coty Hainsey, Courtney Herdt, Erin Keck, Richard Ligo, Heather McQuiston, Robert Rhodes
Megan Sherry, and Aaron Zavora

Click image to enlarge.
KME Officers: Dr. Natacha Fontes-Merz, Advisor; Coty Hainsey, Vice-president; Stephen Donnel, Public Relations; Aaron Zavora, Secretary, Heather McQuiston, President

Click image to enlarge.
KME 2011 Inductees: Row 1: Andrew Kieffer, Beth Ekimoff, Jaclyn Miller, Sydney Spain, Lisa Kaylor, Christina Erceg; Row 2: Anthony Caratelli, Todd Changoway, Branislav Cikel, Chelsea Wesp, Timothy Matyas.; Missing from picture: William Armentrout, Hannah Raihall