Emmy nominee and faculty advisor attending Emmy gala in Hollywood this month

Friday, April 18, 2014

HOLLYWOOD-- The countdown is underway for the 35th College Television Awards, honoring the talent and work of college students nationwide! Watch the LIVE webcast April 23 at 10 pm Eastern/7 PM Pacific.  #CTA2014  The 35th College Television Awards will be streamed live at TelevisionAcademy.com/CTA.

Joe Ligo will represent Westminster College as he is a nominee for Outstanding Documentary with his Broadcast Communications Capstone project THE UNFORTUNATE HISTORY OF THE AMC PACER (you can watch it online @ http://youtu.be/kcl98aBRkD8). 
This is the first College Emmy nomination for Westminster College and Ligo will be on hand for the ceremonies in Hollywood on Wednesday night. 
"The project chronicles the history of America's weirdest car from its inception through its demise," said Ligo.  "Viewers go on a ride through history, including details on how General Motors and the U.S. government nearly sabotaged the most innovative car of the 1970s.  It's an underdog story of how a plucky little car company left a big mark on the industry and pop culture."

"The prestige of the Emmys shines a light on the great talent of our students," said Brad Weaver, Westminster communication studies lecturer. "Joe's documentary is top notch and was first recognized by the BEA Festival of Media Arts this month for excellence in cinemetography.  Now he's an Emmy nominee.  I'm also very touched that he invited me to be a guest at the awards ceremony in Los Angeles." 
Ligo is a son of Jesse and Amy Ligo of Mercer and a graduate of Mercer Area High School.  During his time at Westminster he was the program director/operations manager and on-air personality for Westminster's Titan Radio.
The Television Academy Foundation (an arm of the Television Academy of Arts and Sciences) will honor 52 nominees for the 35th College Television Awards, to be hosted at the Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre. The College Television Awards, presented by the Television Academy Foundation, recognizes excellence in the areas of video, digital and film production by undergraduate and graduate students from across the country.
"Every year, College Television Awards nominees are carefully selected from a pool of incredible talent because their work has demonstrated exceptional creativity and storytelling," said Norma Provencio Pichardo, Executive Director of the Television Academy Foundation. "The Television Academy Foundation is proud to honor these rising stars and to offer them the chance to have their work recognized by industry leaders."
This year's ceremony sees industry support from celebrity attendees including Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele (Key & Peele), Max Greenfield (New Girl), Darby Stanchfield (Scandal), Nick Wechsler (Revenge) and Matt Bomer (White Collar), who, along with many other celebrities, will present awards. The College Television Awards honors student work in 13 categories including: Alternative, Animation, Children's, Comedy, Commercials, Documentary, Drama, Magazine, Music Composition, Music Use, Newscast and Series. The College Television Awards are comparable to Primetime Emmy® Awards for students creating content for television, film and alternative platforms.
Four special awards will also be presented at this year's ceremony: the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship will be presented to a student whose work best provides insight into the unique experiences of those with a disability; four Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarships will be given to university graduate students pursuing careers in children's media; the Bricker Humanitarian Award will be awarded to the project that best exemplifies a humanitarian interest; and the SUBWAY FRESH ARTISTS® AWARD will recognize the film that most creatively embodies the theme "In life, the best things are always made to order."  
This year's nominees and winners represent schools nationwide including:

  • American Film Institute
  • American University
  • Art Center College of Design
  • Bates Technical College
  • Brigham Young University
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Champlain College
  • Chapman University
  • Elon University
  • Florida State University
  • Ithaca College
  • Montana State University
  • Oxnard Community College
  • Ringling College of Art and Design
  • Savannah College of Art and Design
  • Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
  • University of California - Irvine
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Southern California
  • Wake Forest University
  • Westminster College 
The College Television Awards is among the many impactful education and preservation initiatives of the Television Academy Foundation, the charitable arm of the Television Academy. 


Click image to enlarge.
The 35th College Emmy Awards will be streamed live at TelevisionAcademy.com/CTA.

Click image to enlarge.
Former Titan Radio and Westminster Cable Network staffer Joe Ligo is one of three college nominees for the Emmy for Outstanding Documentary.

Click image to enlarge.
Ligo's "The Unfortunate History of the AMC Pacer" received the Excellence in Cinematography Award from the 2014 Broadcast Education Association's Student Media Festival.

Click image to enlarge.
Watch Ligo's nominated documentary on YouTube.