#pac60: Celebrating PAC football

Thursday, August 7, 2014

GREENVILLE, Pa. (pacathletics.org) - The Presidents' Athletic Conference (PAC), formally organized in 1955 by charter members Case Institute of Technology, Western Reserve University, John Carroll University, and Wayne State University, is celebrating its 60 anniversary throughout the 2014-15 academic year. The PAC will be recognizing 60 of its outstanding student-athletes that have competed as members of both present, and past, league-affiliated institutions in 19 championship sports with the creation of 60th anniversary celebratory teams.

The PAC's 60th anniversary football team was announced at PAC Football Media Day on August 6.

Sixteen of the PAC's past and present members are participating in the yearlong celebration project. All 10 of the PAC's current members were automatically included, while past league members must have had at least a 10-year affiliation with the conference to participate.

Both past and present PAC members receive "automatic" selections on the 60th anniversary teams based on the institution's membership time. Each school also has the opportunity to nominate a maximum of six (6) additional "at-large" student-athletes, per sport, for consideration.

Sport-specific advisory committees, made up of 5-6 past and present PAC coaches and administrators, will determine additional "at-large" student-athletes to be recognized in order to reach 60 student-athletes on each celebratory team.

The anniversary team, which features 15 schools, has 49 "automatic" selections and 11 "at-large" selections. Over 60 "at-large" nominations were put forward for advisory committee consideration.

Click image to enlarge.