Skip to main content

WC to Showcase Student Research at Yearly URAC Event, April 22

Sunday, April 19, 2015

NEW WILMINGTON, Pa. - Westminster College's Drinko Center for Experiential Learning will host the Tenth Annual Undergraduate Research and Arts Celebration, Wednesday, April 22.

Oral presentations, poster sessions, and concurrent student speakers will be held in the Witherspoon Rooms of the McKelvey Campus Center (MCC) and in Patterson Hall from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m.  These events are open to the public.

Spectators can pick up schedules of presentations and locations at the main entrance to McKelvey Campus Center and both entrances to Patterson Hall.

This showcase for student creative and research efforts will feature the work of nearly 300 Westminster students who will present posters, oral presentations, documentaries, art projects, and performances.
Westminster President Dr. Richard H. Dorman will open the celebration with a brief welcome at 8:15 a.m. in the atrium, directly outside the doors of the Witherspoon Rooms. The event will commence with a playing of the Westminster bells.  
There will be an alumni recognition luncheon at 11:30 a.m. in Berlin Lounge in MCC.
Tom Oyer ‘05, awards office coordinator at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, will present the Distinguished Alumni Lecture at 3:30 p.m. in Mueller Theater in MCC. Oyer earned a bachelor's degree in sociology with a minor in film studies at Westminster.  His job at the Academy has brought him full circle in the pursuit of film as an avenue for affecting and showing social change.    
The Drinko Center for Experiential Learning was created to enrich undergraduate education at Westminster through advancing world-class teaching as well as by participating in collaborations that address community and regional needs including strengthening K-12 education.  Visit to learn more about the Drinko Center.
Contact the Drinko Center at (724) 946-6097 or visit for additional information and a detailed/searchable schedule. 
The Honors Banquet will include a welcome from President Dorman and an invocation by the Rev. James Mohr, College chaplain.  Dr. Jane Wood, vice president for academic affairs and dean of the College, will recognize scholarship recipients, and will recognize students who have completed the All-College Honors program.
Department chairs will award scholarships in their various disciplines.  Dr. Neal Edman, vice president for student affairs, will present the McQuiston Outstanding Service Awards, given to rising senior men and women for unselfish service to the Westminster community during their college careers, and the Allen P. Splete Leadership and Service Award, given to a student who has provided sound leadership and selfless volunteerism to the curricular and co-curricular life on the Westminster campus.

Click to enlarge.

Click to enlarge.

Click to enlarge.